Newspaper Archive of
Hays Free Press
Kyle, Texas
January 25, 2017     Hays Free Press
PAGE 8     (8 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 8     (8 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
January 25, 2017

Newspaper Archive of Hays Free Press produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2019. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

Page 4B EDUCATION Hays Free Press ,, January 25, 2017 + Members of the Hays CISD One Act Play all-star cast, which include Jared Brown, Faith Relander, Coral Rolon, Jared Wood, Ashley Badger, King, Buddy Epps, Alyssa Martinez, Teddy Goldman and Tristan Goldman, stand on stage at the Hays CISD Performing Arts Center. PHOTO BY STEPHANIE SANDERS Melynn Cunningham, Jax Swanson, James Ochoa- 4 .I STAFF REPORT Theater students from all six Hays CISD middle school programs came together for the annual day-long HCISD One Act Play Festival, which was held at the Hays CISD Performing Arts Center this month. Chapa Middle School's Charlie Bruno and Barton Middle School's Alena Hernandez were named Best Actor and Actress. In addition, the all-star cast and crew, along with the honorable mention all- star cast were named. According to the dis- trict, the Chapa Middle School theater program's performance of "Check Please" claimed sweep- stakes honors, while McCormick's'Gossip" and Wallace's "Rest in Peace" drew theatricality honors. The Dahlstrom, Simon and Barton theater groups each drew ensem- ble honors. All six middle school theater directors were honored for their dedica- tion and leadership dur- ing the event. All-star Cast CHAPA Jared Brown Faith Relander Coral Rolon DAHLSTROM Jared Wood Ashley Badger MCCORMICK Melynn Cunningham Jax Swanson WALLACE James Ochoa-King Buddy Epps SIMON Alyssa Martinez BARTON Teddy Goldman Tristan Goldman All-star Crew CHAPA Megan Morris DAHLSTROM Riley Rutter MCCORMICK Mackenzie Stratton WALLACE Ayana Ernest SIMON Xav!er Banbury BARTON Evelyn Schneider Mention All- star Cast CHAPA Kylee Nemetz DAHLSTROM Madison Kane Ryan Quigley MCCORMICK Sean Bookout Nevaeh Dodson Samiah Ybarra Bella Bazan WALLACE Rory Cleghorn SIMON Jacob Lopez Carson Ponder BARTON Jordan Warren Samuel Mawson PHOTO BY JIM CULLEN i Nine Hays High art students received honors in this year's Scholastic art competition. Gabriella Segovia's sculpture entry, "En- chanting Chaos," received a Gold Key award, which qualifies her to compete at the national con- test. Ryan Peed and Erica Wilson earned Silver Key recognition for their drawing entries - Peed for his "Why?" and "Marimba" entries, and Wilson for her "Musical Reflections" entry. Six additional Reb artists drew honorable mention. Desiree Campbell and Lissette Rangel were recognized for their photography entries,"Date Night" and "Dead rose". The remaining four recog- nized Reb artists, all in the Drawing category, included Annika Dove ("Diversity"), Megan Gilliam ("Winter Wonderland"), Summer Lewis ("Texas Girl'3, and Aaron Williams ("Eyes on the Road"). Not pictured is Lissette Rangel. PHOTOS BYJIMCULLEN 3310 B FM 967, Ste #Al10. Buda, Texas 78610 Near the corner of FM 1626 and 967 512-523-8680 m See all your local news online at + m ,: li) i i i I i lli i